History

History of New Hampshire School Nurses' Association

New Hampshire’s first school nurse was Elizabeth Murphy.  She worked for the city of Concord. She became the Director of School Health Services in the Department of Education for 23 years starting in 1919 and retiring in 1947. Under her leadership, she helped to unite small districts so that they could hire a full-time school nurse with a salary commensurate of teachers in that same district. School nurses were considered as much a part of the team as the teacher. She was also influential in revising the Health and Sanitation Statutes under the laws of public schools in 1921. The motivation for these changes was partially based on the number of “physical rejects” that was at an all-time high during  World War 1. These statutes remained in effect until they were revised in 1971.  READ MORE


PAST- PRESIDENTS of NHSNA

1934 -- Edna Smith   1962 -- Velma Gorman   1990 -- Maura Kirk
1935 -- Marion Moynihan   1963 -- Doris Wiklund   1992 -- Beverly Hobbs
1936 -- Lillian MacIntosh   1965 -- Ruth Whitcomb   1994 -- Pat Marsh-Thorell
1938 -- Elizabeth Davey    1967 -- Marjorie Moore   1995 -- Janet Sanborn
1939 -- Della Robbins   1968 -- Betty Goff   1996 -- Barbara Mahoney
1940 -- Velma Gorman   1970 -- Priscilla Lord   1997 -- Beverly Taylor
1941 to 1945: War Years   1972 -- Helen White   1998 -- Ellen Zimmerman
1946 -- Marion Mellinger   1974 -- Wanda Schol   2001 -- Martha Judson
1947 -- Ruth Whitcomb   1976 -- Joyce Davison   2002 -- Barbara Pamboukes
1948 -- Ruth Whitcomb   1977 -- Caroline Kallgren   2004 -- Gerri Harvey
1949 -- Ruth Whitcomb   1978 -- Carol Countryman   2006 -- Linda Compton
1952 -- Hazel Bryant   1979 -- Marion Goodwin   2008 -- Laurie Fleming
1955 -- Mary Jones   1980 -- Jane Cummings   2010 -- Pam Murphy
1957 -- Mary Shea   1982 -- Marilyn Noyes   2012 -- Nancy Wells
1959 -- Constance Huss   1984 -- Martha Judson   2014 -- Harriet Davenport
1960 -- Ruth Langille   1986 -- Joan deVillafane   2016 --  Linda Compton 
1961 -- Gladys Newhall   1988 -- Barbara Ward    

A Note from our Historian

I am the Sunshine/Historian for the New Hampshire School Nurse Association (NHSNA). I am available to send cards to NH school nurses who might need some encouragement, or are sick, or have had a death of a significant other, student or staff.

Feel free to contact me and request these services or just to talk if you need some support and encouragement! When you send me an e-mail, please try to include not only the nurse's name but also an address where a card may be sent.

Thank you all so much for your help. This job would be impossible to do without the input of all of our school nurses supporting and encouraging each other.

Lise Lemieux, MSN, RN, NCSN  
Francestown, Hancock & Dublin Elementary Schools
liselemieuxrn@yahoo.com

Board Members for School Years 2016 -- 2018

EXECUTIVE BOARD

​President:  Linda Compton MS, RN    SAU #1 Great Brook School   licompton@conval.edu

President Elect:  Kathy Barth BSN, RN, NCSN    Crossroads Academy Lyme   Kathybarth3@gmail.com

Treasurer:   Pamela Murphy, BS, RN  Peterborough Elementary    pmurphy@conval.edu

NASN Delegate:  Laurie Fleming, MPH, RN, NCSN  Derry Middle   Fleming4him@comcast.net

Past President:  Harriet Davenport BS, RN  Keene High School   harrietd50@gmail.com

Secretary:  Sheryl Chuda M.Ed, BSN, RN, NCSN  schuda@sau60.org

BOARD OF DIRECTORS AND COMMITTEE CHAIRS

DOE School Nurse Coordinator Nancy Wells MS, RN, NCSN nancyawells@aol.com

Nancy.Wells@doe.nh.gov

By-Laws Barbara Pamboukes M.Ed., BSN, RN  bpamboukes@sau52.org

Continuing Ed:  Open

Historian:  Lise Lemieux, MSN, RN, NCSN  liselemieuxrn@yahoo.com

Hospitality  Meg Jenkins MS, BSN, RN mjenkins@sau73.org
                       Kerriann Reynolds BA, RN kreynolds@laconiaschools.org

Advocacy / Marketing 

 Carla Smith MSN, RN, NCSN  tsmith1992@yahoo.com
Lisa Therrien BS, RN (Twitter) ltherrien@sau60.org
Meg Jenkins MS, BSN, RN (Facebook) mjenkins@sau73.org

Membership

Paula MacKinnon RN (WebMater) pmackinnon@sau57.org
Melissa Miller BSN, RN (Recruitment) melismiller2013@gmail.com

Scholarship Marie Liimatainen MS, BSN, RN   mliimatainen@laconiaschools.org

School Nurse of the Year:  Laura Gifford BSN, RN  l.gifford@sau63.org

Nominating:  Kathy Barth BSN, RN, NCSN    Crossroads Academy Lyme   Kathybarth3@gmail.com

Legislative:  Traci Fairbanks BS, RN  tfairbanks@sau29.org

Newsletter Open:  

NHSNA Liaison Martha Judson MS, RN mbjudson@aol.com

2015 47th Annual NASN Conference Philadelphia PA



The 47th Annual NASN Conference, held this year in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania was an energizing time networking with colleagues, listening to stories and learning from experts in our field.  NHSNA President Harriet Davenport presented our delegates at the annual meeting by saying:   "We are from the granite state of New Hampshire, and we are the rock solid foundation of our schools."



New Hampshire

New Hampshire School Nurses' Association

www.nhschoolnurses.org               email: nhschoolnurses@gmail.com

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software